Oops, With My Mother’s Indulgence…

When I saw this cartoon, it reminded me of a story about my mother. For those who do not know, I am not allowed to tell stories about family (is one of the rules), but I am about to get in trouble for breaking one of the commandments. She was telling me about her ordeal at therapy that ended with a massage. The therapist was telling her to relax because she was too tense. Her anxiety was about her worries that if she relaxed as the therapist wanted, her insides would take over. It was one of those moments in your adult life when your parents share some of these anecdotes, and you have to listen to them, no matter the length, the details, and the rambling or ranting. She went on with her story for several more minutes, describing the excruciating pain of gas rumbling in her insides wanting to get out. However, her resolve triumphed as she held on her butt cheeks shut like a hockey goaltender after completing a shutout.

Next: Repost of Robocop (2014)

Leave a comment